DIOCESE OF SPRINGFIELD SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS

DECREE

Inasmuch as the Diocese of Springfield has undertaken a lengthy pastoral planning process to ensure fair and equitable access to the sacraments for all Catholics in Western Massachusetts, and

Inasmuch as a professional and pastoral evaluation of each church community which included listening sessions with clergy and parish representatives in each of the ten regions of the diocese has been undertaken, and

Inasmuch as the pastoral planning process for the Diocese of Springfield has indicated the need for the reconfiguration of parishes, and in particular instances the reduction in the number of parishes for a particular region, and

Inasmuch as the clergy and representatives of the parishes below noted have participated in the consultative process structured by the Pastoral Planning Committee, which has resulted in recommending the canonical actions herein indicated,

Therefore, I, Timothy Anthony McDonnell, Bishop of Springfield, having heard the Presbyteral Council on this proposal according to the prescription of Canon 515.2 of <u>The Code of Canon Law</u>, hereby undertake the following acts, which become effective on January 1, 2009:

In the Town of Adams, merge the Parishes of Notre Dame des Sept Douleurs/Saint Thomas Aquinas, established in 1998 and Saint Stanislaus Kostka, established in 1902 to form Pope John Paul the Great Parish, with Notre Dame Church as the parish church;

In the City of Agawam, suppress the Parish of All Saints, established in 2000;

In the Town of Housatonic, merge the Parishes of Corpus Christi, established in 1899 and All Saints, established in 1914 to form Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Parish, with Corpus Christi Church as the parish church;

In the Town of Lanesboro, suppress the Parish of North American Martyrs, established in 1969;

DIOCESE OF SPRINGFIELD SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS

In the Town of Millers Falls, suppress the Parish of Saint John, established in 1898;

In the City of North Adams, merge the Parishes of Our Lady of Mercy, established in 1997, Saint Anthony of Padua, established in 1903, and Saint Francis of Assisi, established in 1863 to form Saint Elizabeth of Hungary Parish, with Saint Anthony of Padua Church as the parish church;

In the Town of South Deerfield, merge the Parishes of Saint James, established in 1895, and Saint Stanislaus Bishop and Martyr, established in 1908 to form Holy Family Parish, with Saint Stanislaus Bishop and Martyr Church as the parish church;

In the Town of Stockbridge, return Saint Joseph Parish, established in 1922, to a Mission of Saint Mary Mother of the Church Parish in Lee and;

In the City of West Springfield, merge the Parishes of Immaculate Conception, established in 1877 and Saint Louis de France, established in 1895, together with Saint Ann Mission, a mission of Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish in Springfield, established in 1907 to form Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini Parish, with Immaculate Conception Church as the parish church.

As indicated above, these actions become effective on January 1, 2009.

Given in Springfield this eighth day of October, 2008.

Most Reverend Timothy A. McDonnell Bishop of Springfield

Reverend Msgr. Daniel P. Liston Chancellor